Established in 1982 by Gilbert Rodway QC, chambers made its mark with three other founding members - Anthony Corrigan QC, Ian Payne and Valerie Penlington. It was then known as the Chambers of Gilbert Rodway QC and located at Hang Chong Building.

Gilbert Rodway specialised in Family Law, but he also enjoyed a mixed practice, frequently taking on civil as well as criminal cases. Anthony Corrigan, on the other hand, was a renowned and successful criminal law advocate.

Gary Plowman joined the chambers in June 1984, after spending six years as a prosecutor for the Hong Kong Government. It was not long before he made a name in criminal law. In 1993, Gary Plowman was appointed Queen's Counsel. Four years later, upon becoming head of chambers, chambers came to be known as the Chambers of Gary Plowman SC. The name of chambers was later shortened to Plowman Chambers. In 2019, Peter Duncan SC became the Head of Chambers, he was then succeeded by Derek Chan SC since December 2022 until now.

Plowman Chambers has fourty members, including six silks.


Members of chambers have an established tradition of judicial and public appointments.

Former members of chambers include the Honourable Mr Justice Michael Lunn VP (retired), the Honourable Mr Justice Andrew Macrae VP, the Honourable Mr Justice Andrew Chan, the Honourable Mr Justice Keith Yeung, who previously served as the Director of Public Prosecutions from 2013 to 2017, the first Chinese to be appointed to the position, and Mr Gary Plowman SC and Mr Daniel Marash SC. 


Plowman Chambers is a leading set of barristers' chambers in Hong Kong. Members have consistently been instructed in numerous high profile and landmark cases over the years.  In addition to their legal practice, Members regularly act as chairmen or members of statutory tribunals.